NOTICE:  This website is currently under renovation to ensure accessibility by any disabled individual.  If anyone encounters an inaccessible feature on this website, please contact the County Administrator's Office, Okeechobee County Board of County Commissioners, at (863) 763-6441 x.1  or you may email that office at: to advise what inaccessible feature was encountered, and to allow the County to provide the desired information through alternative means, until such time as the website renovation is complete.  

Tourist Development Council Advisory Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Want to be on the board and help to promote tourism?

The governing board of each county which levies and imposes a tourist development tax under this section shall appoint an advisory council to be known as the “  (name of county)   Tourist Development Council.” The council shall be established by ordinance and composed of nine members who shall be appointed by the governing board. The chair of the governing board of the county or any other member of the governing board as designated by the chair shall serve on the council. Two members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, at least one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in the county or sub county special taxing district in which the tax is levied. Six members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which members, not less than three nor more than four shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the county and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council shall serve for staggered terms of 4 years. The council shall meet at least once each quarter and, from time to time, shall make recommendations to the county governing board for the effective operation of the special projects or for uses of the tourist development tax revenue and perform such other duties as may be prescribed by county ordinance or resolution.

Citizen Board and Committee Application

Come and be a part of your community!