NOTICE:  This website is currently under renovation to ensure accessibility by any disabled individual.  If anyone encounters an inaccessible feature on this website, please contact the County Administrator's Office, Okeechobee County Board of County Commissioners, at (863) 763-6441 x.1  or you may email that office at: to advise what inaccessible feature was encountered, and to allow the County to provide the desired information through alternative means, until such time as the website renovation is complete.  

About the County

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Our Mission:

Okeechobee County will provide responsive government services to its citizens in a well-managed, cost effective, fiscally sound, policy driven manner. All services provided shall benefit the health, safety and welfare of the community.

Our Vision:

A Community with a small town environment that fosters a desirable place to live, work and play

In addition:

  • Okeechobee County is the 54th County in the State of Florida, established on May 8, 1917, from segments of Osceola, St. Lucie and Palm Beach counties
  • It gains its name from the Hitchiti Indian words oka (water) and chobi (big).
  • County Seat:  Okeechobee
  • Square Miles:   769 (land) and 123 (water); with a Population of 39,997
  •  Okeechobee County operates under the Administrative Form of Government.
  • The Board of County Commission is a 5 member board, elected at large, but must live in the District in which they are elected, for a 4 year term.
  • The Board of County Commission enacts Ordinances and adopts Resolutions but hires an Administrator to execute policy and oversee the various departments.

Fair Housing, Civil Rights Information:

County residents may contact the following person with questions or complaints regarding illegal housing discrimination (not loan foreclosures):  Robbie Chartier, County Administrator (863)763-6441 extension 1.
For discrimination issues in employment or handicap accessibility relating to the Board of County Commissioners, contact Mariah Anuez, HR Administrator, (863) 763-9312 extension 3.